50 first dates

So I was discussing with a friend yesterday why I ended things after five dates last week with a women who seemed to tick all the boxes and the only explanation I could come up with was an enthusiasm I have for going on 1st dates and how excited I was about putting my profile back on www.match.com I have my 10th date lined up for lunchtime today (tapas in 3 hours) and as with all the other 1st dates to date I’m genuinely excited and looking forward to it. I have little baby Lepidoptera in my tummy right now as I write this, It’s that sense of anticipation I’m hooked on. Definately sexist but what comes to mind is what i would think a women feels when her Jimmy Choo’s touch the delicous tarmac of New Bond Street as she penetrates the cusp of a shopping frenzy leaving her financial responsibilities behind. Also, only having seen profile pictures and some email/msn with no face to face contact there is the uncertainty, she may be ‘the one’, the 6x number lottery ticket, thunderbolt and lightning (very very frightening). Invariably there is probably more chance I will be hit by lightning leaving a shop where I just purchased a winning ticket as i suspect there never was any such thing as ‘the one’ and my natural high pre 1st date is always building me up for the anti climatic 2nd date (probably why I have only been on 1x 2nd date).

All downhill from here..

All downhill from here..

Most of our friends/family know all about our history/hopes/values etc so on a 1st date we get the opportunity to talk extensively about ourselves (how often do all you people in safe relationships get the chance to do that i wonder?). My date (at least out of politeness) will pretend to be interested in my self indulgent ramblings. Of course you have to return the compliment and let them talk about their shit but that’s OK. In actual fact I have been thoroughly impressed and genuinely interested by some of my dates, Head of PR for a political party, journalist, headteacher, cabin crew, detective, paramedic, the list goes on. I kid you not, fascinating, excellent raw material for a writer and great for building my female characters (I even started a cheecky wee database, match should be charging me much more). Is it wrong that I’ve been making voice recordings on my phone while they are in ladies room about how silk like strands of hair keeps falling over a cheek, eyes like plums dipped in water, lips moist and welcoming, swimmers shoulders alien on a soft edged frame, the tantalising curve of a vertebral column. Well they do say the genius is in the detail..  

Only 40x more 1st dates to go – love it..

Leave a comment